

Changing Lives, Creating Futures

Joe May System President

Officers:

Michael J. Murphy Chair

N. J. "Woody" Ogé First Vice Chair

Timothy W. Hardy Second Vice Chair

Members:

Robert Brown Helen Bridges Carter Keith Gamble Deni Grissette Steve Hemperley Willie Mount Joe Potts Paul Price, Jr. Stephen C. Smith Vincent St. Blanc, III Craig Spohn Stephen Toups

Student Members:

Algernon Doplemore Frank Russell

> Louisiana Community & Technical College System

265 South Foster Drive Baton Rouge, LA 70806

Phone: 225-922-2800 Fax: 225-922-1185 January 31, 2014 Minutes as approved February 12, 2014 LOUISIANA COMMUNITY & TECHNICAL COLLEGE SYSTEM

BOARD OF SUPERVISORS SPECIAL MEETING

APPROVED MINUTES

Friday, January 31, 2014 12:00 p.m.

The Louisiana Building Baton Rouge Community College 201 Community College Drive, Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70806

** The Board of Supervisors of the Louisiana Community and Technical College System reserves the right to enter into Executive Session in accordance with R.S. 42.16.

A. CALL TO ORDER

Board Chairman, Michael Murphy called the meeting to order at 12:05 pm.

B. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Supervisor Gamble led the assembly in the pledge of allegiance.

C. APPOINTMENT OF NEW LCTCS BOARD OF SUPERVISORS MEMBERS:

Chair Murphy invited Leo Hamilton, General Counsel for the Board to conduct the swearing in of the following new board members:

- 1. Mr. Steven Hemperley
- 2. Mrs. Willie Mount
- 3. Mr. Craig Spohn

Each new board member shared their positive comments on becoming part of the LCTCS Board.

Mr. Hemperley shared the following about his appointment: "Privilege and honor to be on the board. I look forward to serving with all of you. It is an exciting time in the state right now and the purpose and mission of this system in in line with the opportunities in the state."

Senator Mount stated that she is equally as excited to serve: "I am pleased to be here and honored to serve on this board. I'm excited to bring to the table my experiences as a Senator as well as a Mayor, working through economic development issues related to the system..."

Mr. Spohn expressed his gratitude on being able to serve on this board: "This is a real exciting time for the state. In the northern part of the state, there are a number of existing partnerships for employers coming into the area...Our role will become that much more important in developing the workforce needed for these employers..."

www.lctcs.edu

D. ROLL CALL

Board Coordinator, Sara Kleinpeter, called roll with the following results:

Members Present

Members Absent

Staff Present

Sara L Kleinpeter Quintin Taylor Leah Goss

Michael J. Murphy, Board Chair Deni Grissette Woody Ogé, 1st Vice Chair Joe Potts Timothy W. Hardy, 2nd Vice Chair Robert Brown Helen Carter Keith Gamble Steve Hemperley Willie Mount Paul Price, Jr. Stephen Smith Vincent St. Blanc, III Craig Spohn Stephen Toups Algernon Doplemore Frank Russell

E. APPROVAL OF JANUARY 31, 2014 AGENDA

On motion of Supervisor Brown, seconded by Supervisor Carter, the Board voted to approve the January 31, 2014 agenda. The motion carried.

F. APPROVAL OF JANUARY 21, 2014 PRESIDENTIAL SEARCH COMMITTEE MINUTES

On motion of Supervisor Price, seconded by Supervisor Smith, the Board voted to approve the minutes of the January 21, 2014 meeting of the Presidential Search Committee as presented. The motion carried.

G. INTERVIEW OF FINALISTS FOR THE LCTC SYSTEM PRESIDENT'S POSITION

The board conducted interviews with the following individuals:

12:30 – 1:30 p.m.	Dr. Marie Gnage
1:45 – 2:45 p.m.	Dr. Deborah Blue
3:00 – 4:00 p.m.	Dr. James Henderson
4:15 – 5:15 p.m.	Dr. Monty Sullivan

Interviews began at 12:30 pm and ended at approximately 4:50 pm. The board recessed between scheduled interview times, if there was time available.

H. DISCUSSION OF CHARACTER AND PROFESSIONAL COMPETENCE OF FINALISTS

Chair Hardy stated the need to enter into Executive Session for the purpose of discussing the character and professional competence of the candidates.

On motion by Supervisor Ogé, seconded by Supervisor Toups, Supervisor Hardy requested a roll call vote to enter into Executive Session.

Board Coordinator Ms. Kleinpeter called a vote to enter into Executive Session with the following results:

Yea's - 15Nay's -OMichael J. Murphy, Board Chair Woody Ogé, 1st Vice Chair Timothy W. Hardy, 2nd Vice Chair Robert Brown Helen Carter Keith Gamble **Steve Hemperley** Willie Mount Paul Price, Jr. Stephen Smith Vincent St. Blanc, III Craig Spohn Stephen Toups Algernon Doplemore Frank Russell

The Board entered into Executive Session at 4:53 p.m., following a unanimous vote.

The Board reconvened from Executive Session at 5:55 p.m. A roll call was taken to reestablish a quorum. The following Supervisors were in attendance:

Michael J. Murphy, Board Chair Woody Ogé, 1st Vice Chair Timothy W. Hardy, 2nd Vice Chair Robert Brown Helen Carter Keith Gamble Steve Hemperley Willie Mount Paul Price, Jr. Stephen Smith Vincent St. Blanc, III Craig Spohn Stephen Toups Algernon Doplemore Frank Russell Chair Murphy stated that no votes were taken and no consensus was reached during the Executive Session.

I. OTHER BUSINESS

There was no further business to come before the Board.

J. ADJOURNMENT

On motion of Supervisor Carter, seconded by Supervisor Gamble, the Board adjourned at 5:56 p.m.